Mediation and the Cold Call — Task 102 Complete

Let’s say there’s a knife in your eyeball.

You can’t pull it out, you can’t stop the pain, until a doctor a appropriately stops the blood loss and leaking of fluids from you eye area….

What are you supposed to do?

Multiply the pain of the knife in your eye by 500 times, and the pain will virtually disappear.

So. Upon the fifth person to say, “No, I’m not interested,” and after witnessing out powerful and free LinkedIn is, I decided to meditate upon my next actions.

So, because I can’t sit in the padmasana, the lotus position, yet, I sat in the butterfly position with my back against the wall. E.ggtimer.com was ticking at 61 minutes and downward.

Well, I can tell you now, that the first 24 minutes are always a breeze. I can do 24 minutes and feel nothing–it’s easy, my Mind-Body can accept it, my legs haven’t really fallen asleep that much, etc.

But by the 32nd minute, the 38th, I generally move my attention away from my hara or away from my yantra, my single-minded visual focal point to two primary sources of physical and mental pain:

  • My femur scrapes against my pelvis/hip bone as my inner thigh muscles (my adductor brevis/longus, I believe, stretch to the limit
  • Then, my mind drifts toward the clock–Only 24 more minutes, 22 minutes, oh. Damn. I did six deep, 8-minute breath “chunks”, so I must be at 48 minutes…

And, dear lord, you wouldn’t believe how much more it hurts to think about the second one, the time aspect of meditation.

Which is why what I’m sharing with you is so important. Because pain is the in the contrast. 

When I was thinking about single-mindedness, of feeling my feet mix with the red sands of Mars as I see the first paved road that I personally saw to, something clicked in my mind that “Maybe it’s because I’m always relating back to how good I’ll feel at the end of the meditation INSTEAD of thinking directly as this is the present moment.”

A sentence from Mindfulness then came up:

“Differences do exist between people, but dwelling upon then is a dangerous process. Unless carefully handled, it leads directly to egotism. Ordinary human thinking is full of greed, jealousy and pride. A man seeing another man on the street may immediately think, “He is better looking than I am.” The instant result is envy or shame. A girl seeing another girl may think, “I am prettier than she is.” The instant result is pride. This sort of comparison is a mental habit, and it leads directly to ill feeling of one sort or another: greed, envy, pride, jealousy, hatred.”

Then a phrase from Self-Made Wealth came up (with commentary from me):

“Suffering = Pain x Resistance. We’ll always experience pain, that’s a fact of life. [But the pain we feel and experience, the amount of pain that affects our behaviors, is the pain that comes from trying to focus elsewhere, to think of all the good things when the pain is present… It’s only when we blow up the pain to astronomical proportions that pain, or anything, loses its meaning.”

Then a phrase from a useful article that I can’t remember came up:

“Please. Stop what you’re doing now, and look at your hand. Really, pull your hand off your mouse so that your hand is feeling only air, and spread your fingers.

“Now, as you look at your hand, imagine it growing bigger and bigger until it fills the room…

“Bigger and bigger until it fills the house…

“Bigger and bigger until it fills the state… the world… the universe…

“Can you still make out your hand? No. You can’t. Because you have nothing to contrast it with…”

When pulled together, these three examples, these three sources for this valuable less came up for me and just obliterated any sense of arthitis-like bone scrapage and exploded my sense of time into a thousand little bits.

All I was left with was an extreme sense of deep, inner peace and happiness, as I had just discovered something divine, bright white, and exploding from my mind’s eye. (Yes, it is true, Nirvana does come with the million-lumen white light that explodes out of your cranial cavity.)

In the end, when the timer went off (and when I was in the same exact position I had started in), I had the biggest smile on my face and intense rushing of dopamine and serotonin flood through my chest, solar plexus, through, shoulder muscles, upper arms, forearms, the tips of my fingers, then through my legs, calves, shins, feet.

Just before the timer went off, I think to myself–with my focus on the pain and the desire for time to past swiftly–“This is all there was, this all there will be, and this is all there is.”

I smiles so broadly. My expression wanted to leap out of my boundaries as a human being, because the pain I experienced was so intense that my body had to compensate for it.

When I sat up, I immediately though, “How can I apply this to life, business, rejection?” Well, I immediate focused on the rejection I could receive from Ryan McGrath and Dan Kaufman when I tell them these two things respectively: 1) I don’t think I’m a good enough copywriter yet, and 2) It’s not in my budget to purchase LInkedIn Premium.

Done. I asked myself, “What do I see, hear, feel, taste, or smell as I blow up this rejection I fear by 500 times?” I smiles so hard that I couldn’t wait to get started!

Then, when it came to doing more cold calling (I called a guy over in Los Angeles named Adam), I thought, “What would it be life if I multiplied this possible rejection by 500 times?”

I smiled, and I gave him a call.

Overall, this lesson has extremely profound and vastly imaginative effects on the mind, body, emotions, and soul–there’s no greater power that you can achieve once you’ve learned to absolutely dominate and master the control of your mind.

In fact, that’s what I’m using to get this article done in one goal! 1,024 words is a challenge for most people, yet that’s exactly what I accomplished in the short 40 minutes you’ve been with me today 😀

Anyway, I’m excited for what this lesson brings me, because I’m going to apply it to as many things as I possibly can–to work, to focus, to prioritizing effectively, to budgeting, etc.. The impact of this is infinite, because it takes away negative emotion as a factor in making the important decisions.

It takes away the “It’s too painful, so I’ll repress it” factor when focusing on important tasks.

So. Good! I’m going to take this learning and incorporate it into more and better areas–I’ll speak with you the next time I post a task (tomorrow), and I’ll get back with you with you the results!

AB

 

Leave a Reply

