A Secret Fear I Regret Having (Task 62 Launch!)

“Oh God.”

Have you ever just stared at the comments box–perhaps on
Facebook–going schizophrenic on whether you should send it?

Have you ever opened your inbox to find your message read…
for two days… still with no reply?

Have you ever said “Shit. God that was a bad idea” with a piece
or two that you’ve written?

Well, that’s exactly what I feel every time I write one of these
posts–I feel that something bad’s going to happen with each one.

And the worst part is that my ex-boss has probably read each of
these posts. Fuck me, right?

Well, this feeling is one emotion, or fear, that I hope to circumvent.
It’d be great to really develop a comfort zone with the writing
here that no one has ever seen before.

Because ever since I was a child, I would always write stories.
Instead of playing with other children, I would sit on the edge
of the playground, 20 cent generic notebook in hand, and write
fantasy stories that modeled what I saw in the Baldur’s Gate series.

Looking back on it, I wrote so much, that, when I wrote a piece
that modeled what I saw in Resident Evil 4, my sister told me, “This
is good,”  I feel that I can actually believe her.

But even though I wrote so much–with a spike of fantasy stories
in the fourth grade when I read Redwall–there wasn’t really a time
when I would expand and stretch my comfort zone.

For example, I hated editing and still hate editing. It’s a process that
does nothing but point fingers at why my writing sucks.

And because I never had the idea to make a list of the things that were
right with what I write (until just now–which is an awesome idea), I
never did it. Editing was solely a period of torment, a crucible that
only those stronger than I could handle.

Until now.

With the power of this blog due to the accountability it presumes,
i now feel ready to give new styles of writing and thinking a go.

It’s time to release the shackles of heavy thinking without heavy
responsibility. There’s time for draftibating later.

So, in order to develop the skill of writing so that people don’t point
at it and tell me I suck and make me cry, I commit to:

  • Visit ten articles on this site and give 10 things “done right” and
    10 things “to improve”
  • Writing 500 words on a cup of coffee that inspires super powers
    in a very average man

In the meantime, it’d be cool if you check out some of the articles on
this site and stay here for a while.

Even if you have a couple other things to do, it’s nice to think that
just 15-30 minutes of reading articles like these a day can help a
someone become more productive and focus on “doing the right
things” instead doing unimportant shit right.

If you’re interested here are some articles you might enjoy checking
out:

An Inner Crucible: Moments of Torment
Saving Private Ryan Knife Moment (Task 54 Complete!) 
(Still) The Hardest One Of All (Eight Task Setup)
You Can’t Justify Your Way Out Of Hate (Task 15 Completed)

Moments Of Inner Release
Tasketh Sixteeneth, Bi*tch! 😀 (The Grid-Iron Game)
If You Want To Let Go… Hold On Tighter (To What You Value Most)

Moments Of Victory:
Second Task Result! Touched Some Ta-Tas! And got a number…
I Really Hate Some Of The Sh** I Do (Eighth Task Completed… Lol)
There’s Only So Much Amazing You Can Improve In 42 Days, But
I’ve Yet To Find Out How Much!! (Task 42 LANDED YO!!)

I surmise that we’ll be even better friends before long! 🙂

Your Friend,

Aaron

IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII IIIII

Leave a Reply

